All Events

  •  

    The Stories That Veterans Tell

    Date: October 3, 2017 - October 23, 2017

    Time: 9:00 am to 8:00 pm

    Category: Storytelling and Writing
    Address: 10 Killingworth Turnpike
    Clinton
    06413
    United States

    Share and preserve your story! If you’re a veteran, HCH Library’s Lynn Hidek would like to meet you and hear the story of how you served our country. After a casual interview, participants will receive a DVD recording of their story. Additional dates and times available. Contact Sarah at (860)669-2342 read more

  •  

    Teen Writing Workshop

    Date: October 17, 2017 - November 14, 2017

    Time: 6:00 pm to 9:00 pm

    Category: Writing
    Address: 2 Green Hill Rd
    Washington
    06793
    United States

    The Gunn Memorial Library and the Hickory Stick Bookshop are teaming up to host weekly writer’s workshops for young adults ages 12-18. The workshops will be held most Tuesdays from 6-7:30 pm in the library starting October 17th through November 14th. The intent of these workshops is to give young read more

  • 2017 Connecticut Book Awards

    Date: October 22, 2017

    Time: 2:00 pm to 4:00 pm

    Category: Author Event and Festival
    Address: 351 Farmington Ave
    Hartford
    06105
    United States

    The Connecticut Book Awards are back! The Connecticut Center for the Book is delighted to announce that the finalists have been selected for the book awards. Details may be found here: https://ctcenterforthebook.org/and-the-2017-ct-book-award-finalists-are/ Keynote Speaker: Beatriz Williams, author of A Hundred Summers, Overseas, Cocoa Beach, and many other titles Early registration: read more

  •  

    Author event with Liv Constantine

    Date: October 23, 2017

    Time: 6:30 pm to 8:00 pm

    Address: 281 Country Club Rd
    Avon
    06001
    United States

    Some women get everything. Some women get everything they deserve. Meet the author of the book that Library Journal calls “Deliciously duplicitous. . . . equally as twisty, spellbinding, and addictive as Gillian Flynn’s Gone Girl or Paula Hawkins’s The Girl on the Train.”

  •  

    The Witches Speak: Poems of Salem Village and 17th Century Scotland

    Date: October 24, 2017

    Time: 6:30 pm to 8:00 pm

    Category: Poetry and Poetry Reading
    Address: 123 Broad St
    Middletown
    06457
    United States

    The Witches Speak: Poems of Salem Village and 17th Century Scotland Tuesday, October 24, 6:30pm. The Hubbard Room, Russell Library, 123 Broad Street, Middletown. Two poets, Ginny Lowe Connors and Sherri Bedingfield, will be doing a tandem reading from their books on witches. Ginny Lowe is the author Toward the read more

  •  

    Teens Talk Book Club: “Sparrow” by Sarah Moon

    Date: October 25, 2017

    Time: 6:00 pm to 12:00 am

    Category: Book Club
    Address: 768 Boston Post Rd
    Madison
    06443
    United States

    Teens Talk Books is now the Teens Talk Book Club! We hope you’ll join us in reading and discussing “Sparrow” by Sarah Moon this month. The story of a sensitive, gifted African American girl who tells us with mordant humor what it feels like to spend every day wishing so read more

  •  

    Russell Library’s Veterans’ Group Explores World War I - October 26, 2017

    Date: October 26, 2017

    Time: 6:30 pm to 8:00 pm

    Category: Writing
    Address: 131 Broad St
    Middletown
    06457
    United States

    Thursdays, October 12, 19 and 26, 6:30pm. Meeting Room 2, Russell Library, 123 Broad Street, Middletown. The Russell Library invites veterans and their families, together with the public, to join the Russell Library Veterans’ Writing Group for a three part series to explore the American experience of war and its read more

  •  

    Poetry Circle Monthly Meeting

    Date: November 4, 2017

    Time: 11:00 am to 12:00 pm

    Category: Poetry
    Address: 10 Killingworth Turnpike
    Clinton
    06413
    United States

    Calling all poetry lovers! On the first Saturday of every month at 11am, join us at HCH Library for a casual gathering to read and discuss original poetry. All styles, levels, and ages welcome. Hot tea provided. The optional theme for November is: AGE.

  •  

    Guest author Gail B. Macdonald

    Date: November 4, 2017

    Time: 2:00 pm to 3:00 pm

    Address: 49 Rope Ferry Rd
    Waterford
    06385
    United States

    Morton F. Plant and the Connecticut Shoreline: Philanthropy in the Gilded Age by Gail B. MacDonald. Gilded age financier Morton F. Plant inherited his father’s transportation empire determined to improve his community. A dreamer eager to invest in innovative technology and grassroots community causes alike, Plant’s influence ran deep on read more

  •  

    Children’s Book Signing with Tomie dePaola

    Date: November 5, 2017

    Time: 2:00 pm to 4:00 pm

    Address: 2 Green Hill Rd
    Washington
    06793
    United States

    Tomie dePaola, beloved children’s author/illustrator and creator of the classic Strega Nona series, will sign books at The Hickory Stick Bookshop on Sunday, November 5th at 2pm to celebrate the release of his new picture book, The Legend of Old Befana (Simon & Schuster, $17.99). — In this beloved classic read more

  •  

    Cookbook Signing with Ann Hodgman

    Date: November 11, 2017

    Time: 4:00 pm to 5:30 pm

    Address: 2 Green Hill Rd
    Washington
    06793
    United States

    Ann Hodgman returns to The Hickory Stick Bookshop to sign copies of her latest cookbook, Vegan Food for the Rest of Us: Recipes Even You Will Love (Rux Martin, $22) on Saturday, November 11th at 4pm – Recipes for regular people who love great food by “a humorist and cookbook read more

  •  

    An evening with Martin Philip author and baker!

    Date: November 13, 2017

    Time: 6:30 pm to 8:00 pm

    Address: 281 Country Club Rd
    Avon
    06001
    United States

    Author event! Breaking Bread, by Philip Martin, is a unique combo of memoir and cookbook chronicling his life growing up in the Ozark mountains, being an opera singer, a banjo player, and even working in the corporate finance world in NYC—all the while baking. It’s a brilliant, moving meditation on read more

  • Speculative Fiction Book Discussion: The Mists of Avalon

    Date: November 13, 2017

    Time: 7:00 pm to 8:00 pm

    Category: Book Discussion
    Address: 49 Rope Ferry Rd
    Waterford
    06385
    United States

    Pamela Bedore, Associate Professor of English at the University of Connecticut, Avery Point, will lead this monthly series.  Multiple copies of the books will be available at the library. The Mists of Avalon by Marion Zimmer Bradley (1983)  Here is the magical legend of King Arthur, vividly retold through the read more

  •  

    Daytime Book Discussion

    Date: November 17, 2017

    Time: 1:00 pm to 2:30 pm

    Category: Book Discussion
    Address: 49 Rope Ferry Rd
    Waterford
    06385
    United States

    The Muralist by B. A. Shapiro. When Alizée Benoit, an American painter working for the Works Progress Administration (WPA), vanishes in New York City in 1940, no one knows what happened to her. Some seventy years later enigmatic paintings are discovered hidden behind works by now-famous Abstract Expressionist artists. Do read more

  •  

    Book Signing: Evidence of Flossing

    Date: November 18, 2017

    Time: 11:00 am to 2:00 pm

    Address: 17 S Main St
    Branford
    06405
    United States

    Would God floss? Do spiders sing? Can you see the Universe in your reflection? Explore the answers to these questions and more in Evidence of Flossing: What We Leave Behind, a new book by Branford author/artist Jen Payne. Saturday, November 18, 11:00AM – 2:00PM. Book signing, refreshments, and more, hosted read more

  • Speculative Fiction Book Discussion: A Great and Terrible Beauty

    Date: January 8, 2018

    Time: 7:00 pm to 8:00 pm

    Category: Book Discussion
    Address: 49 Rope Ferry Rd
    Waterford
    06385
    United States

    Pamela Bedore, Associate Professor of English at the University of Connecticut, Avery Point, will lead this monthly series.  Multiple copies of the books will be available at the library. A Great and Terrible Beauty  by Libba Bray(2003)   A Victorian boarding school story, a Gothic mansion mystery, a gossipy romp about read more

  • Speculative Fiction Book Discussion: Alif the Unseen

    Date: February 12, 2018

    Time: 7:00 pm to 8:00 pm

    Category: Book Discussion
    Address: 49 Rope Ferry Rd
    Waterford
    06385
    United States

    Pamela Bedore, Associate Professor of English at the University of Connecticut, Avery Point, will lead this monthly series.  Multiple copies of the books will be available at the library. Alif the Unseen by G. Willow Wilson (2012)  Secret identities form the axis of Wilson’s fast-paced, imaginative first novel, “Alif the read more

  • Speculative Fiction Book Discussion: Good Morning, Midnight

    Date: March 12, 2018

    Time: 7:00 pm to 8:00 pm

    Category: Book Discussion
    Address: 49 Rope Ferry Rd
    Waterford
    06385
    United States

    Pamela Bedore, Associate Professor of English at the University of Connecticut, Avery Point, will lead this monthly series.  Multiple copies of the books will be available at the library. Good Morning, Midnight by Lily Brooks-Dalton (2016 ) For readers of Station Eleven and The Snow Child, Lily Brooks-Dalton’s haunting debut is the unforgettable story read more