All Book Discussion

  • Speculative Fiction Book Discussion: The Mists of Avalon

    Date: November 13, 2017

    Time: 7:00 pm to 8:00 pm

    Category: Book Discussion
    Address: 49 Rope Ferry Rd
    Waterford
    06385
    United States

    Pamela Bedore, Associate Professor of English at the University of Connecticut, Avery Point, will lead this monthly series.  Multiple copies of the books will be available at the library. The Mists of Avalon by Marion Zimmer Bradley (1983)  Here is the magical legend of King Arthur, vividly retold through the read more

  •  

    Daytime Book Discussion

    Date: November 17, 2017

    Time: 1:00 pm to 2:30 pm

    Category: Book Discussion
    Address: 49 Rope Ferry Rd
    Waterford
    06385
    United States

    The Muralist by B. A. Shapiro. When Alizée Benoit, an American painter working for the Works Progress Administration (WPA), vanishes in New York City in 1940, no one knows what happened to her. Some seventy years later enigmatic paintings are discovered hidden behind works by now-famous Abstract Expressionist artists. Do read more

  • Speculative Fiction Book Discussion: A Great and Terrible Beauty

    Date: January 8, 2018

    Time: 7:00 pm to 8:00 pm

    Category: Book Discussion
    Address: 49 Rope Ferry Rd
    Waterford
    06385
    United States

    Pamela Bedore, Associate Professor of English at the University of Connecticut, Avery Point, will lead this monthly series.  Multiple copies of the books will be available at the library. A Great and Terrible Beauty  by Libba Bray(2003)   A Victorian boarding school story, a Gothic mansion mystery, a gossipy romp about read more

  • Speculative Fiction Book Discussion: Alif the Unseen

    Date: February 12, 2018

    Time: 7:00 pm to 8:00 pm

    Category: Book Discussion
    Address: 49 Rope Ferry Rd
    Waterford
    06385
    United States

    Pamela Bedore, Associate Professor of English at the University of Connecticut, Avery Point, will lead this monthly series.  Multiple copies of the books will be available at the library. Alif the Unseen by G. Willow Wilson (2012)  Secret identities form the axis of Wilson’s fast-paced, imaginative first novel, “Alif the read more

  • Speculative Fiction Book Discussion: Good Morning, Midnight

    Date: March 12, 2018

    Time: 7:00 pm to 8:00 pm

    Category: Book Discussion
    Address: 49 Rope Ferry Rd
    Waterford
    06385
    United States

    Pamela Bedore, Associate Professor of English at the University of Connecticut, Avery Point, will lead this monthly series.  Multiple copies of the books will be available at the library. Good Morning, Midnight by Lily Brooks-Dalton (2016 ) For readers of Station Eleven and The Snow Child, Lily Brooks-Dalton’s haunting debut is the unforgettable story read more