Events


Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

FSPL Zoom Author Talk with Rachel Beanland

June 2 @ 7:00 pm - 8:30 pm


Free
Simsbury Public Library, 725 Hopmeadow Street
Simsbury, CT 06070 United States


The Friends of the Simsbury Public Library will host a virtual author program on Wednesday, June 2 at 7 p.m. with Rachel Beanland, the 2020 National Jewish Book Award winner for debut author, who will present FLORENCE ADLER SWIMS FOREVER her highly praised historical novel based on a story about one of her ancestors.
Atlantic City, 1934. Every summer, Esther and Joseph Adler rent their house out to vacationers escaping to “America’s Playground,” and move into the small apartment above their bakery. Despite the cramped quarters, this is the apartment where they raised their two daughters, Fannie and Florence, and it always feels like home. When tragedy strikes, Esther makes the shocking decision to hide the truth—at least until Fannie’s baby is born—and pulls the family into an elaborate web of secret-keeping and lies, bringing long-buried tensions to the surface that reveal how quickly the act of protecting those we love can turn into betrayal.

Told in the vein of J. Courtney Sullivan’s Saints for All Occasions and Anita Diamant’s The Boston Girl, Beanland’s family saga is a breathtaking portrait of just how far we will go to in order to protect our loved ones and an uplifting portrayal of how the human spirit can endure—and even thrive—after tragedy. FLOPRENCE ADLER SWIMS FOREVER was selected as the Barnes & Noble Book Club pick for July, and was named a Featured Debut by Amazon and an Indie Next pick by the American Booksellers Association. It was also named a New York Times Editors’ Choice and one of the best books of 2020 by USA Today. This is a stunning novel that “readers of Emma Straub and Curtis Sittenfeld will devour….” — Library Journal
Rachel Beanland writes essays and fiction. Her essays have appeared in Lit Hub, Business Insider, Creative Nonfiction, and Broad Street, among other places. She is a graduate of the University of South Carolina and earned her MFA in creative writing from Virginia Commonwealth University. Rachel lives in Richmond, Virginia with her family.

Details

Date:
June 2
Time:
7:00 pm - 8:30 pm
Cost:
Free
Event Categories:
,
Event Tags:
, , ,
Website:
https://www.simsburylibrary.info/

Organizer

Friends of the Simsbury Public Library
Phone:
860-658-7663
Website:
www.simsburylibrary.info

Venue

Simsbury Public Library
725 Hopmeadow Street
Simsbury, CT 06070 United States
+ Google Map
Phone:
860-658-7663
Website:
www.simsburypublic.info/

Sign Up For Email Updates

Oops! We could not locate your form.