Events


Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

Author Event with Mindy McGinnis

May 9 @ 6:00 pm - 7:00 pm


Free
CT United States

Join us in welcoming award-winning author Mindy McGinnis to discuss her latest novel Under This Red Rock. We will be selling copies of Under This Red Rock as well as copies of some of Mindy’s other Young Adult novels. Mindy will be available for book signing after the event!

This program is for teens (grades 7 – 12) and adults.

About Mindy:

Mindy McGinnis is the author of several young adult novels, including A Long Stretch of Bad Days, The Last Laugh, The Initial Insult, Heroine, The Female of the Species, and A Madness So Discreet, winner of an Edgar Award. She writes across multiple genres, including postapocalyptic, historical, thriller, contemporary, mystery, and fantasy. While her settings may change, you can always count on her books to deliver grit, truth, and an unflinching look at humanity and the world around us. Mindy lives in Ohio. You can visit her online at mindymcginnis.com.

About Under This Red Rock:

From award-winning author Mindy McGinnis comes a mesmerizing YA psychological mystery following a teen girl who is grappling with the death of her brother as she starts a new job in the caverns of Ohio—only to become the number one suspect in her coworker’s murder. Perfect for fans of Courtney Summers and Kathleen Glasgow.

Neely’s monsters don’t always follow her rules, so when the little girl under her bed, the man in her closet, and the disembodied voice that shadows her every move become louder, she knows she’s in trouble. With a history of mental illness in her family and the suicide of her older brother heavy on her mind, Neely takes a job as a tour guide in the one place her monsters can’t follow—the caverns. There . . . she meets Mila. Mila is everything Neely isn’t—beautiful, strong, and confident. As the two become closer, Neely’s innocent crush grows into something more. When a midnight staff party exposes Neely to drugs, she follows Mila’s lead . . . only to have her hallucinations escalate.

When Mila is found brutally murdered in the caverns, Neely has to admit that her memories of that night are vague at best. With her monsters now out in the open and her grip on reality slipping, Neely must figure out who killed Mila . . . and face the possibility that it might have been her.

Please register.

Details

Date:
May 9
Time:
6:00 pm - 7:00 pm
Cost:
Free
Event Categories:
,
Website:
https://www.avonctlibrary.info/event/mindy-mcginnis/

Venue

CT United States + Google Map

Sign Up For Email Updates